Be Reckless.

I dare you to go out and do something you’ve never done before. Do something no one has done before.

There is a reason we are young, naive, and reckless. It’s because we don’t know much about the world yet. And there is only one way to learn.

Go out and experience it! Experience is the best teacher there is. Once you know how shitty something can turn out, I bet you’ll be more prepared next time. Thanks to your shitty experience the first time you didn’t know.

So while you are still young, go do something that’ll turn into a good story. Go do something crazy. Be wild, and young, and stupid while you still can be.

There are all those sayings about what people regret on their deathbeds, and I would gamble that they didn’t take the risks that they wanted to. Travel, love, eat, live. Don’t regret not doing something.

There is this little voice inside our heads that tells us we should get a good job and be comfortable in life; that we need to stay comfortable. But leaving our comfort zone is where we learn.

The comfort zone is this illusion in our head of our past being extended into our future. All the people we love are there, we might hate our job but it pays the bills, we hate the town we are in but we know it like the back of our hand. And that’s the thing about the comfort zone; we know it, and we don’t want to leave it. And we want to know where we are and what we are doing.

I mean, who really wants to be uncomfortable, like really uncomfortable. Like standing out in a snow storm in your underwear, uncomfortable. No one wants that level of discomfort, but thats the moment we learn. Maybe to go back inside because it’s fucking cold, but we learn something.

So I dare you to be uncomfortable, and to make it your new comfort zone.

This is how we grow into those wise, old and grays that little kids look up to. When we are still niave, we need to go gain a newfound knowledge that we can then share in stories.

Reckless acts make the best stories.

If we don’t go out and be reckless now, we are gonna end up with a couple kids and a white picket fence and no awesome stories to tell them. Now what kind of parent would you be if you didn’t have awesome stories to tell your kids. Think about the kids!

When we do reckless things that make our hearts skip a beat, we remember what it’s like to live, to be alive. In a world controlled by our technologies, we need to go out and climb that cliff because watching someone do it in a video just isn’t the same.

You need to have the thrill of looking down and thinking you are going to fall. You have to find the way yourself, or with the help of your friends. But when you get to the top, savor that view. Breath slowly, because you earned it. You did it, when that little voice in your head didn’t want you to leave your comfort zone. You shut that voice up and decided to live, like we are meant to.

When we have these moments that we confront where our comfort level ends, we get a better grasp of who we are, who we are meant to be. Everyone draws the line somewhere, but we all need to cross it at some point in our lives.

I’m in the middle of a reckless decision right now. Three weeks ago I got on a plane and flew to Peru. Now I’m sitting in some internet cafe in Calca in the Sacred Valley, and I have no idea where I’m going next. I ended up here, and I’ll end up in the next spot that I’m supposed to. This whole trip is reckless! And I’m loving it (except for being sick in bed for 2 days, fuck that).

A reckless act doesn’t need to be as drastic as leaving the country though, that just happened to be how reckless I felt like being. Go explore a new city, or start driving without knowing the destination, or try every flavor ice cream at your favorite ice cream shop. Being reckless doesn’t necessarily need to be some stunt Evel Knievel would try, it just needs to be reckless for you, outside your comfort zone.

And bring a friend along to make a memory with them. Have a story that you will be able to look back on and think, Remember when we did that?! That was nuts! Friends somehow make doing crazy things easier. Maybe it’s a peer pressure thing, but they actually are a support system that is full of encouragement and only wants you to succeed. Friends are cool.

So if you take anything from this article, I want it to be this. Push yourself to a level you didn’t know you could reach. Because when you do, you learn more about yourself than anyone else will ever be able to teach you.

P.S. For those of my friends wondering how my trip is going, it’s awesome! If you know me, you know I didn’t learn Spanish before I left. I’m quietly regretting that now. But being here is amazing. I’ve been in the Sacred Valley for about a week and a half now and it is so beautiful. The other day I thought of the perfect word to describe it: silencing. I’ve seen a few ruins so far (Ollantaytambo, Pisac, Salinas de Maras) and I plan to see more while I work my way up to Machu Picchu. I can recieve texts still, although I have a limited number of replies I can send, so feel free to text me if you feel so inclined! I am taking pictures, more than I thought I would be taking, but I probably won’t post those until I’m home. You’ll see them eventually though!

Published by

Zach

Writing about my thoughts and experiences. Reading books and always learning something new in my spare time. Settling for less is not an option in my life. I'm going to experience the world.

Leave a Reply

